Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Re: Centaurs attempt at a new life

@saltandpepper I have Spotify. I'm currently listening to landmvrks newest album.

For me it's feeling like I'm drowning. I can't breathe.
I'm smothered by my emotions but I'm just staring blankly at the wall because there is just so much and I'm dissociated.

Glad you've at least got some tunes there @The-red-centaur I've delved back to the music from my high school years, and I shall leave a song here for you (in the next post)

I know that when people talk about dissociation they tend to talk about it in a negative light. I'm no doctor, but I think it's pretty amazing our minds can do things like that. When we hit this overwhelming point and it's like everything goes numb so we don't have to feel the pain anymore. I think it's our brains way of trying to save us, if that makes sense?

Can you make sense of any of the feelings or thoughts as they come up? Is it bringing up memories of people, places, what kind of thoughts are coming up for you?

@The-red-centaur Do you recognise this one:

Should've stayed, were there signs, I ignored?
Can I help you, not to hurt, anymore?
We saw brilliance, when the world, was asleep
There are things that we can have, but can't keep
If they say
Who cares if one more light goes out?
In a sky of a million stars
It flickers, flickers
Who cares when someone's time runs out?
If a moment is all we are
We're quicker, quicker
Well I do
The reminders pull the floor from your feet
In the kitchen, one more chair than you need oh
And you're angry, and you should be, it's not fair
Just 'cause you can't see it, doesn't mean it, isn't there
If they say
It flickers, flickers