Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Ewok
Casual Contributor

Numbness , Traumatic Stuff , Idk

Hey guys I'll try not to rant to long .
Basically ever since I was younger , I have struggled to show and give emotion , especially empathy. I have had some traumatic experiences when I was younger . I was molested on multiple occasions by a mature student I was like 11 and he was around 18 and I just remember being completely powerless and frozen while he put his hands where he wanted to . this event made me hate my body , and my body image today I still struggle with over this .

I constantly feel numb to emotions, and feel a complete disconnect to my physical body . It's like I'm just some sort of robot and my mind is it's own ball of energy . When I'm faced with emotional events like my mum breaking down or a funeral , I just can't be there for them as I can't show the emotion they need .

My boss always says I'm in "Dreamland " and I can't think and remember things well sometimes . And when I'm completing tasks I'm usually very deep in thought about random stuff . Even yesterday at the gym , when I run on the treadmill I lose track of time ,and then I realise I'm having a disconnect again and my mind is literally not with my body . But I get these voices that say " glad this body is strong " " we are so powerful with this one " I remember thinking this . But was this me thinking this ? Anyway back into my body shit I need to slow down I'm stuffed .