Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Megz90
Casual Contributor

Anxiety after newborn got sick.

Hi this is my first time posting here. 

I gave birth 12 days ago. 

I have been suffering with servere anxiety after my newborn was hospitalized at 5 days old due to a viral infection. 

I have been beating myself up about ever since, i am scared the same thing is gonna happen again or something bad will happen. 

I am barely sleeping i keep checking on my baby, I barely eat, I can’t bring myself to leave the house nothing, its like im a zombie in my own body. 

I have started meds 

I dont know how to over come this feeling. 

12 REPLIES 12

Re: Anxiety after newborn got sick.

Hi @Megz90 and welcome to the forum. Congratulations on your very new one. Really sorry to hear that it has been a hard start for you both though. Having a sick one so early would be scary and I can see how it might trigger a lot of anxiety. How is bub going now?

Sometimes when I have a hard time with anxiety it can help to take 'time outs' to try and break the cycle of worry. Things like a long bath, a walk, a drive with some loud music, a quiet cuppa on my own somewhere etc. can all help, even just for a little while. Is there anyone around who might be able to offer some practical support so you can take a moment to do something nice for you?

Also wondering if you've heard of the organisation PANDA (Perinatal Anxiety & Depression Austraia)? They have a helpline and a website here with lots of information including info on anxiety after birth and during early parenting. I have found them very understanding and helpful before.