Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Phoenix_Rising
Senior Contributor

Bad experience with lifeline

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I called lifeline last night and it did NOT go well. I very rarely call because I have had so many negative experiences in the past, but I was desperate. I explained to the counsellor that a large part of my mess is that up until 18 months ago I had been in a very complex and abusive relationship with my psychologist for sixteen years. The counsellor replied...wait for it..."perhaps the abuse was an important part of the therapy." I feel SO sick jut typing it now. I hung up on him and ended up in a bigger crisis than I was before I called. I tried calling back but now I was super dysregulated and the counsellor hung up on me - the most common experience I have when I call lifeline Smiley Sad I have submitted a complaint to lifeline via their website, but I'm not sure if they are able to trace who the counsellor was given that all I can provide is a time - I don't know his name or what lifeline centre he is located at.