Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Corny
Senior Contributor

Dispensable Me.

I many ways it is a little bit of a miracle that I am still here. I have somehow managed to claw myself out of what was a terrifying psychosis, pretty much all by myself.

I've lost a lot of time. Fallen behind, and had to let go of hopes and dreams for my future, will never realise my potential, all of those sad things that complex mental illness takes away from you. I've had some pretty scary experiences in my life, but that is up there with one of the scariest.

I had the help of a wonderful shrink that chose not to drug me, believing the results would be minimal if not zero, because in his experience severe early life neglect and trauma don't respond. I won the lottery with him. Next May I haven't been on an anti-D in 5 years. And the anti-psychs are only on an as needed basis for chronic insomnia. I'm happy to take meds if I get results, but I didn't, they made me worse, some even made me very suicidal. I just finished Edward Bullmore's The Inflamed Mind, and maybe that's why I have had such extreme and terrible reactions to the meds. I'm just one of those people that don't respond. 

Compared to so many other people out there that simply have absolutely no choice but to be drugged against their will, they have their liberty taken from them - I am blessed. I don't really have much to complain about. I should be grateful and just get on with it.