Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Am5
Casual Contributor

Avoidant personality disorder/ depression- seeking support and resources

Hi there, 

Sorry if this is long, this is my first time posting and I don't really know how this all works but wanted to share my story and seek support from people dealing with similar circumstances. I'm in the process of being diagnosed with an avoidant personality disorder and am just beginning to understand related behaviours and how much this disorder has impacted so many aspects of my life. Living with this has really prevented me from progressing through life, reaching milestones and achieving most goals. Worst of all, I am completely isolated, no friendships or connections and whilst I have family, our relationship isn't healthy/good. I experience depression more often than not and it’s very hard to feel motivated. I think the thing that stops me from doing most activities is my aversion to discomfort, I absolute loathe the feeling of discomfort even if its means growing as a person. I have a strong fear of being judged/ criticised, of failing, rejection, abandonment so I avoid any scenarios that could potentially cause this discomfort. Sometimes very minor scenarios like phone calls, going for a walk, going to the shops can cause such dread.